Skip to main content

The Journal Gazette

Saturday, April 01, 2017 3:50 pm

IU great George McGinnis voted into Naismith Hall of Fame

CHRIS GOFF | The Journal Gazette

Former Indiana star George McGinnis, who averaged a school-record 29.9 points and 14.7 rebounds in his lone season with the Hoosiers, has been voted into the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame.

McGinnis is one of 11 members in this year's induction class, announced Saturday at University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Arizona.

The others: Notre Dame women's coach Muffet McGraw, former NBA star Tracy McGrady, former NBA general manager Jerry Krause, Kansas coach Bill Self, former Connecticut women’s star Rebecca Lobo, Texas high school coach Robert Hughes, former NCAA vice president Tom Jernstedt, European star Nikos Galis and Harlem Globetrotters Zack Clayton and Mannie Jackson.

McGinnis, a graduate of Washington High School in Indianapolis, earned third-team All-America honors in 1970-71 at IU and went on to play professionally with the Pacers, helping lead the team to ABA championships in 1972 and 1973. He was co-MVP of the ABA in 1974-75 when he averaged 29.8 points, 14.3 rebounds and 6.3 assists. After stints with Philadelphia and Denver, McGinnis returned to the Pacers in 1980 after they had joined the NBA and retired as a Pacer in 1982.

McGinnis is the fifth former Pacers player or coach to be elected to the Hall of Fame, joining Roger Brown, Mel Daniels, Bob "Slick" Leonard and Reggie Miller.

“On behalf of all Hoosier Nation, I want to congratulate George McGinnis on making the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame,” IU athletic director Fred Glass said in a statement issued by the school. “I remember watching him as a kid at Hinkle Fieldhouse when he played for Washington. He is one of the greatest players in IU history, a Pacers legend and an icon in the state of Indiana. We could not be more thrilled for 'Big George' to receive this most prestigious honor.”

The induction ceremony will be in September at the Hall of Fame in Springfield, Massachusetts.