Skip to main content

The Journal Gazette

Thursday, April 06, 2017 5:20 pm

ECHL All-Stars lack a Komet

JUSTIN A. COHN | The Journal Gazette

Komets defenseman Cody Sol was left off the ECHL's First- and Second-Team All-Stars. So were Garrett Bartus, Kyle Thomas, Shawn Szydlowski and Mike Cazzola.

Maybe that's not so strange. But the entire first team is made up of players from Allen and Colorado. That's not a good job by the voters to look beyond just a couple stat lines.

Chosen by coaches, reporters, broadcasters and media-relations directors, the first team is: Allen goalie Riley Gill, Allen defenseman David Makowski, Colorado defenseman Matt Register, Allen forward Chad Costello and Colorado forwards Matt Garbowsky and Casey Pierro-Zabotel. The Second Team has Toledo goalie Jake Paterson, Colorado defenseman Jake Marto, Wheeling defenseman Kevin Schulze, Toledo forward Shane Berschbach, Florida forward Brendan O’Donnell and Brampton forward David Vallorani.

For what it's worth, my votes were: Paterson; Simon Denis, Toledo; Joel Chouinard, Allen; Vallorani; Peter Sivak, Alaska; and Pierro-Zabotel. And my second team was: Bartus; Sol; Register; Costello; Tylor Spink, Toledo; O’Donnell.