You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

The Scoop


Verbatim: Area teacher is finalist for state Teacher of the Year

Statement issued Monday:

Superintendent of Public Instruction Dr. Tony Bennett today announced ten finalists for Indiana’s 2010 Teacher of the Year program, which recognizes outstanding teachers from the state’s public and accredited non-public schools.

“Outside of the family, nothing is more important in the life of a child than an inspired and inspiring teacher,” Bennett said. “These ten finalists represent the best of the best from schools in every corner of the state. They have demonstrated an exceptional commitment to helping every student achieve success in the classroom and beyond.”

The Teacher of the Year program is open to all licensed classroom teachers who intend to remain active in the teaching field. Each year, school officials nominate teachers by submitting portfolios in which teachers’ exceptional qualities and accomplishments are described by current and former students, colleagues, supervisors and friends from their communities.

Indiana superintendents nominated 42 public and non-public educators for the 2010 Indiana Teacher of the Year. All nominees will be honored November 4, 2009.

The ten finalists were selected based on criteria that include concern for students, the ability to inspire learning and willingness to work cooperatively with colleagues. Each finalist will be interviewed Tuesday, September 1, 2009, by a committee of Indiana Department of Education personnel as well as external community and education leaders – including former Teachers of the Year.

The following teachers were selected as Indiana’s top ten Teacher of the Year finalists:

Cynthia Batalis

Grades 1 – 5, Physical Education

Penn-Harris-Madison School Corporation

Horizon Elementary School

Chris Chad

Grades 4/5

Brownsburg Community School Corporation

Reagan Elementary School

Byron Ernest

Grades 9-12, Agriculture Science

Lebanon Community School Corporation

Lebanon High School

Angie Marsh

Grade 7, Mathematics

Center Grove Community School Corporation

Center Grove Middle School North

Tonya Martin

Grade 8, Language Arts Enrichment;

Grades 6,7,8 Research and Library Sciences

MSD of Warren Township

Raymond Park Middle School

Stephen Park

Grades 7, Science; Grade 8, Communications

Huntington County Community School Corporation

Riverview Middle School

Leslie Preddy

Grades 7/8, Library Media

MSD of Perry Township

Perry Meridian Middle School

Agnes Pugel

Grades 3/4 Gifted & Talented

Hamilton Southeastern Schools

Thorpe Creek Elementary School

Christine Snow

Grades 5/6, Multi-age

Indianapolis Public Schools

Center for Inquiry at School 2

Jay Vahle

Grades 4/ 5

Carmel Clay Schools

Woodbrook Elementary School

The winner, to be announced in mid-to-late September, will represent Indiana at the national Teacher of the Year competition in Washington, D.C., in the spring and receive $1,000 and sabbatical/higher education scholarship opportunities.

The National Teacher of the Year Program, sponsored by the ING Foundation, is a project of the Council of Chief State School Officers. Visit for more information.

Send items for The Scoop to