You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

High Schools

  • Homestead star picked for national U17 team
    There’s good news for Homestead’s Caleb Swanigan and possibly more good news.The senior boys basketball standout made the USA Basketball U17 team, it was announced Tuesday.
  • Luers star shines at Ohio State recruiting event
    The diehards came to Ohio Stadium on Friday to see the famed Horseshoe’s $13.7 million renovation and the future college stars they hope will someday play there.They left talking about a wide receiver from Indiana.
  • Teams take advantage of summer rules
      A growing trend among high school football teams in Indiana was endorsed this spring by the IHSAA.
All-Century team list
Steve Alford, New Castle; Damon Bailey, Bedford North Lawrence; Kent Benson, New Castle; Larry Bird, Springs Valley; Hallie Bryant, Indianapolis Crispus Attucks; Mike Conley, Lawrence North; Bill Garrett, Shelbyville; Terry Dischinger, Terre Haute Garfield; Eric Gordon, Indianapolis North Central; Billy Keller, Indianapolis Washington; Clyde Lovellette, Terre Haute Garfield; George McGinnis, Indianapolis Washington; Rick Mount, Lebanon; Greg Oden, Lawrence North; Bobby Plump, Milan; Zach Randolph, Marion; Jimmy Rayl, Kokomo; Oscar Robertson, Indianapolis Crispus Attucks; Glenn Robinson, Gary Roosevelt; Scott Skiles, Plymouth; Homer Stonebraker, Wingate; Deshaun Thomas, Ft. Wayne Luers; Tom and Dick Van Arsdale, Indianapolis Manual; John Wooden, Martinsville; and Robert “Fuzzy” Vandivier, Franklin.
-- Associated Press
File / The Journal Gazette
Deshaun Thomas

Luers' Thomas joins Robertson, Bird on AP All-Century team

Deshaun Thomas of Bishop Luers has been named to the Associated Press' Indiana All-Century team, the news cooperative announced today.

Thomas was the only Fort Wayne player included on the team, selected in honor of the 100th anniversary of the state boys basketball tournament, which ends Saturday at Conseco Fieldhouse.

Other northern Indiana players on the team include Rick Mount of Lebanon, Zach Randolph of Marion, Jimmy Rayl of Kokomo, Glenn Robinson of Gary Roosevelt and Scott Skiles of Plymouth.

They join Oscar Robertson, Larry Bird, Bobby Plump and 17 other Hoosier legends on the team.

For more on this story, see Friday's print editions of The Journal Gazette or visit after 3 a.m. Friday.