You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Irish Insights

  • Notre Dame men's basketball falls to Providence
    Providence's LaDontae Henton scored a career-high 38 points and deflected a last-second shot by Notre Dame's Pat Connaughton as Providence defeated the Irish 75-74 in the Hall of Fame Tip-Off Classic.
  • Kelly 'proud' of Notre Dame players
    This time, Brian Kelly didn’t call it a debacle or second-guess one of his decisions, even as the roughest stretch of his tenure as Notre Dame’s coach got a little bit rougher.
  • Notebook: Irish face limitations of youth
    SOUTH BEND – Notre Dame coach Brian Kelly, at the top of his postgame news conference, mentioned perceived error on the snap or hold with the field goal unit.

Notre Dame hands out men's basketball award

The Notre Dame men's basketball team celebrated its 2009-10 season Wednesday night by handing out some awards.

Luke Harangody picked up the Notre Dame Monogram Club MVP award for the second year in a row, and Tim Abromaitis walked away with the Notre Dame Club of St. Joseph Valley Rockne Student-Athlete award.

Abromaitis also shared the Most Improved Player award with Carleton Scott, and Tory Jackson also received two awards, taking the Captains' award and Outstanding Playermaker award.

Tyrone Nash was named the Best Defensive Player, and Ben Hansbrough and Jonathan Peoples received the Team Irish award.

Notre Dame went 23-12 this season. It was the fourth consecutive year the Irish finished with 20 wins or more. Coach Mike Brey also collected his 300th career victory and 200th win with the Irish during the season.

Notre Dame reached the NCAA tournament for the sixth time in 10 seasons under Brey, losing 51-50 in the first round to Old Dominion.

Seniors Tim Andrew, Harangody, Jackson and Peoples graduate as the winningest class in school history at 93-43.