You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.


  • Komets bring back 2 more holdovers
    Komets general manager David Franke said Monday the offseason was just heating up after the team re-signed forwards Kaleigh Schrock and Mike Embach.Well … flame on, then.
  • Captain coming back for Komets
    It’s hard to argue with Komets general manager David Franke when he says team captain Kaleigh Schrock, at the hardly ripe age of 29, is still a good stretch of the legs away from his rocking chair days.
  • Ks part of shift by ECHL
    Komets fans enjoy going to road games and a good rivalry.
Samuel Hoffman | The Journal Gazette
Komets center Colin Chaulk was selected as the Komets’ MVP by his teammates for the fourth time in seven seasons with Fort Wayne.

Chaulk’s teammates know value

Center Colin Chaulk made the most valuable play of Sunday’s game, stripping the puck from two Flint players, then scoring on a breakaway to cement a 2-1 victory over the Flint Generals.

Then he was selected as the Komets’ MVP by his teammates, making it the fourth time he’s received the honor in seven seasons with Fort Wayne. Chaulk also took the Stonewall Defensive Forward award, after he’d already won the leaguewide award, and Chaulk got the Plus/Minus Award for being a team-best plus-34.

“I’m always trying to play hard at both ends of the rink,” Chaulk said. “Sometimes it works. Sometimes it doesn’t. … A lot of those (awards) are team efforts and I want to thank my teammates for (MVP), that’s for sure. But hey, it’s a new season now.”

The Komets open their best-of-seven semifinals series against Port Huron on Thursday at Memorial Coliseum.

The Komets’ captain, Guy Dupuis, who has 14 goals and 43 points, was selected Defenseman of the Year by reporters and front-office personnel for the fifth straight season and eighth time overall. Dupuis also received the “True Komet” award for team spirit and positive attitude.

Forward Lincoln Kaleigh Schrock, who has 20 goals, 31 points, took Rookie of the Year honors. Schrock, a Fort Wayne native, also won the Mr. Hustle Award.

Frankie DeAngelis, a defenseman with nine goals, 41 points and a plus-31 rating, was chosen as Most Improved Player. The Unsung Hero Award was shared by Leo Thomas, who has 33 goals and 60 points, and Brad MacMillan, who has nine points and 233 penalty minutes.

The Bud Gallmeier Memorial Trophy for community service was shared by Justin Chwedoruk and goaltender Tim Haun.