You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Full Count

  • TinCaps staffer honored
    TinCaps director of promotions and community relations Abby Naas was named the Midwest League's Female Executive of the Year.
  • Padres, TinCaps renew development contract
    The TinCaps said today they have renewed their player development contract with San Diego through the 2016 season.
  • TinCaps' 2009 title team makes Single-A history
    Seventeen members of the 2009 TinCaps have broken into the major leagues, a Class A record, according to information provided by the TinCaps from Sports Reference president Sean Forman.

All-Star events rundown

Here is what is in store for the Midwest League All-Star game at Parkview Field.

June 21 (Gates open at 5:05 p.m.)

- Autograph session (5:05 p.m.)

- Little League home run derby

- Midwest League skills challenge: Outfielders throw to home, shortstop throws to first, catchers throws to second.

- Midwest League home run derby: Four hitters from the East vs. four from the West. One "hometown hitter," a high school baseball player allowed to use a metal bat.

Each participant gets 10 outs to try to hit as many home runs as possible. An out is any swing that is not a home run.

- Skills challenge and home run derby winner presentation

- Fireworks

June 22

Midwest League fanfest (noon to 3 p.m. at Grand Wayne Center)

- Autograph session

- Kids activities, interactive games and inflatables

All-Star Game (gates open at 5:05 p.m.)

- Game starts at 7:05 p.m. and fireworks follow presentation of postgame awards

In other news, Jose Flores and the TinCaps coaching staff will lead the Eastern Team. Burlington, last year's runner-ups, will coach the Western Division squad.

The preliminary rounds to decide the "hometown hitter" spot are May 9, 16 and 23. SAC, ACAC, NHC and a representative from Canterbury and Blackhawk Christian will participate. The finals are June 5.