You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Irish Insights

  • Irish nab linebacker for 2015 class
    Te'von Coney, a senior linebacker at Palm Beach Gardens Community High School in Florida, announced his commitment to Notre Dame.
  • Notre Dame's Jaylon Smith quarterfinalist for award
    From the The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation: The 20 student-athletes represent the qualities embodied by the award – Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community
  • No. 1 Irish lose to IU in soccer
    The eighth-ranked Indiana men’s soccer program defeated No. 1 Notre Dame 1-0 Wednesday night, scoring in the 19th minute on a goal by Patrick Doody.

Irish reach lacrosse championship game

Notre Dame made school lacrosse history Saturday at Baltimore.

The Irish defeated Cornell 12-7 in the NCAA tournament semifinals to earn their first trip to the championship game.

Neal Hicks scored four goals, Zach Brenneman had three and goaltender Scott Rogers stopped 16 shots for the Irish (10-6), who defeated the Big Red (12-6) for the first time.

Notre Dame is the first unseeded team since Massachusetts in 2006 to earn a spot in the championship game.

The Irish will play the winner of the other semifinal between Virginia and Duke for the title Monday.

Notre Dame used an early four-goal run to take a 4-1 lead and led at 6-3 at halftime.

Cornell scored twice in succession to make it 7-5 midway through the third quarter, but Hicks restored the three-goal cushion by scoring on a rebound.

Rogers and the Irish defense made sure there would be no fourth-quarter comeback for the Big Red.

Cornell's Rob Pannell, who came in averaging a nation's-best 4.59 points per game, was limited to two assists.

The Irish opened the tournament with a win over sixth-seed Princeton, then beat No. 3 Maryland to advance the semifinals for only the second time.