You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

The Scoop


Verbatim: Joint statement from Burmese organizations

National League for Democracy (Liberated Area, USA), Burmese American Society of Fort Wayne, 8888 Generation Student (Exile) and Arakan League for Democracy today issued this "Joint Statement on the 20th Anniversary of 1990 Election Victory and the 7th Anniversary of Depayin Massacre:"

1. During the 1990 election, the National League for Democracy (NLD) party, led by Daw Aung San Suu Kyi, won the election with 82% (392 out of 485) of the parliament seats in Burma, but the military regime refused to transfer the power.

2. We people of Burma recognized the 1990 election results, and demand the unconditional release of Daw Aung San Suu Kyi and all political prisoners immediately. We also would like to call for the international communities to support NLD as a legal political party of Burma and its political stance of the Shwe Gon Daing declaration.

3. We express our gratitude toward the six US senators, Senators Mitch McConnell, Joe Lieberman, Dianne Feinstein, Judd Gregg, John McCain and Sam Brownback for condemning the military regime on both of its refusal to transfer power to the elected people representatives of the NLD party in 1990, and its plan to hold a new election in 2010 without the participation of the NLD and other pro-democracy political parties.

4. US Senator Jim Webb offered a different perspective of US relations to the regime. However, we do not believe that his visit to Burma would lead any progress for the people unless bring up the regime to the negotiation table to talk with the NLD leaders.

5. On May 30, 2003, while Daw Aung San Suu Kyi and her party members were traveling in a motorcade on an organizing tour in the country was brutally attacked by the Union Solidarity and Development Association (USDA), chaired by Gen. Than Shwe at Depeyin village in Northern Burma. Despite the fact that she luckily escaped the assassination, many of her party members were killed by blood addicted regime. She was taken to the world notorious Insein Jail for a hundred days and put under house arrest until present day. U Tin Oo, Vice President of NLD was seriously injured during the attack and was also detained under house arrest for seven years. Two hundreds and eighty two members were murdered. The bodies of victims were never recovered and listed as missing.

6. We would like to request the UN Commission of Inquiry to implement immediate investigation process on crimes against people of Burma committed by the regime, including Depayin massacre.

7. We strongly oppose the up coming 2010 shame election without the participation of the NLD and other pro-democracy parties.

May 31, 2010

National League for Democracy (Liberated Area, USA)

Burmese American Society (B.A.S) of Fort Wayne

8888 Generation Student (Exile)

Arakan League for Democracy

Send items for The Scoop to