You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

The Scoop


Verbatim: Leesburg teacher finalist for Teacher of the Year

Statement issued Wednesday:

Superintendent of Public Instruction Dr. Tony Bennett today announced ten finalists for the 2011 Indiana Teacher of the Year program, which recognizes the state’s outstanding classroom teachers.

“The number one factor for students’ academic success is teacher quality,” Bennett said. “Our ten finalists are committed to delivering innovative classroom instruction and driving student growth. Their achievements serve as best practice examples for teachers across the state.”

The Teacher of the Year program is open to all licensed classroom teachers who intend to remain active in the teaching field. Each year, school officials nominate teachers by submitting portfolios in which teachers’ exceptional qualities and accomplishments are highlighted in a professional biography, a description of their community service, their philosophy of teaching and their views on educational issues and trends.

Indiana superintendents nominated 50 public and non-public educators for the 2011 Indiana Teacher of the Year. All nominees will be honored in November with a banquet.

The ten finalists were selected based on criteria that include concern for students, the ability to inspire learning and willingness to work cooperatively with colleagues. Each finalist will be interviewed Tuesday, September 7, 2010, by a committee of past Indiana Teacher of the Year honorees and other education stakeholders.

The following teachers were selected as Indiana’s ten Teacher of the Year finalists:

Scott D. Black

Grades 9-12, Speech/Debate

MSD of Warren Township

Warren Central High School

JoAnn Brugos

Grade 1

LaPorte Community School Corporation

Hailmann Elementary

Erin Hartman

Grades 9-12, U.S. History & Economics

Elkhart Community Schools

Elkhart Memorial High School

Stacy Huffer

Grade 4

Warsaw Community Schools

Leesburg Elementary School

John A. Jackson

Grades 9-12, Secondary Social Studies

Franklin Community School Corporation

Franklin Community High School

Stacy A. McCormack

Grades 11-12, Physics

Penn-Harris-Madison School Corporation

Penn High School

Lisa Miniear

Grades 9-12, Physical Education

Franklin Township Community School Corporation

Franklin Central High School

Jamil Odom

Grade 3, General Education and High Ability

MSD of Perry Township

Mary Bryan Elementary School

Anthony Record

Grades 9-12, Mathematics

Avon Community School Corporation

Avon High School

Jacquelyn J. Singleton

Grade 1

Archdiocese of Indianapolis

St. Anthony of Padua

The winner, to be announced mid-to-late September, will be Indiana’s candidate for National Teacher of the Year and will be recognized in Washington D.C. this spring. Indiana’s Teacher of the Year will receive $1,000 and sabbatical/higher education scholarship opportunities.

The National Teacher of the Year Program, sponsored by the ING Foundation, is a project of the Council of Chief State School Officers. Visit for more information.

Send items for The Scoop to