You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

The Scoop

Allen County Officials accepted the award during the Association of Indiana Counties’ Annual Conference Wednesday evening. Pictured in photo left to right: Commissioner Linda Bloom, Commissioner Nelson Peters, Clerk of the Circuit Court Therese Brown, Commissioner Bill Brown and Treasurer Sue Orth.

Verbatim: Allen County wins statewide award

INDIANAPOLIS – The Association of Indiana Counties’ (AIC) has awarded Allen County the 2010 County Achievement Award. Counties that win this prestigious award must demonstrate that the project meets the following criteria: Substantial leadership to plan and complete the project It can be utilized by other counties. It resulted in cost savings or increased efficiency and effectiveness of government. It was a creative approach to finding solutions for a difficult problem. Nominations for this award must be submitted by an elected county official from the nominated county. Winners are chosen by a committee comprised of elected county officials across the state.

The award was announced Wednesday evening during the AIC’s 2010 annual conference in LaPorte County. During the conference the AIC’s Board of Directors also adopted its 2011 legislative platform and held elections for its executive board of directors. The AIC Board of Directors sets policies and legislative goals for the Association of Indiana Counties which represents all 92 Indiana counties.

Send items for The Scoop to