You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Eyeing IU

  • Rahrig on Rimington watch list
    Hoosiers center Collin Rahrig was placed on the watch list for the Rimington Trophy, given annually to the nation's top player at that position.
  • Hoosiers add Illinois State transfer
    Illinois State team captain Nick Zeisloft will transfer to Indiana to complete his final two years of college eligibility, the Hoosiers announced Monday.
  • Wynn on Paul Hornung Award watch list
    Hoosiers wide receiver Shane Wynn was one of 47 players named Monday to the Paul Hornung Award watch list.

Chappell named IU MVP

Quarterback Ben Chappell won the Anthony Thompson MVP award at Indiana's football banquet Sunday. Chappell completed 302-of-483 passes (62.5 percent) for 3,295 yards with 24 touchdowns, three rushing touchdowns, nine interceptions, 274.6 yards per game and a 132.5 passing efficiency this season. He set the school's single-season completions, passing yardage and attempts records, and finished second in passing touchdowns, total offense (3,309) and completion percentage.

He led the Big Ten in passing yardage, passing yardage per game, completions and attempts, finished third in total offense (275.8), touchdowns and TD-interception ratio, and ended up fourth in points responsible for (13.5). Nationally, Chappell ranked fourth in attempts, sixth in completions, 12th in passing yardage, 14th in passing yardage per game, tied for 21st in touchdowns, 22nd in total offense and tied for 28th in points responsible.

IU also received $100,000 from an anonymous donor to name the defensive linemen meeting room in memory of Bill Phillips, Sr., presented on behalf of the 2010 freshman class. The father of IU tight end Paul Phillips, Phillips died in a plane crash in Alaska in August. Phillips was a defensive lineman at the University of Evansville.

Here is the complete list of award winners.


Anthony Thompson MVP Award – Ben Chappell

Pete Schmidt "Team Above Self" Award – Mitchell Evans

Al Barsch "Hang Tough" Award – Terrance Thomas and Richard Council

Don Howell "Outstanding Offensive Lineman" Award – James Brewer

Chris Dal Sasso "Outstanding Defensive Lineman" Award – Adam Replogle

Corby Davis Memorial Award – Trea Burgess

Ted Verlihay "Mental Attitude and Loyalty" Award – Jamie Lukaszewski

Ted Whereatt "Senior Academic Excellence" Award – Ben Chappell

Howard Brown Award – Terrance Turner

Harold Mauro Award – Tyler Replogle

Terry P. Cole "Impact Player" Award – Jeff Thomas and Mitch Ewald

Hoosier Captains

Ben Chappell and Tyler Replogle

Hoosier Big Play Maker Awards

Offense – Damarlo Belcher and Tandon Doss

Defense – Darius Johnson

Special Teams – Mitch Ewald

Scout of the Year Awards

Offense – Austin Ahrens, Cody Evers and Paul Phillips

Defense – Chase Hoobler, Ishmael Thomas

Special Teams – Matt Zakrzewski

One-Play Warrior Club

Trea Burgess, Griffen Dahlstrom, Tandon Doss, Matt Ewald, Greg Heban, Kofi Hughes, Jeff Sanders, Chad Sherer, Jeff Thomas and Nick Turner

Senior Manager Awards

Jack Kilduff, Justin Kurtz, Alex Peck, Jeff Sprunger, Carter Uebelhoer and Andrew Waggoner