You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Eyeing IU


Names announced for divisions

Leaders and Legends are the names of the two divisions for the Big Ten when it begins divisional play next season.

Indiana will play in the Leaders division.

The conference announced the names of divisions, and awards, Monday. The Leaders division includes the Hoosiers, Purdue, Ohio State, Penn State, Wisconsin and Illinois.

The Legends division has Michigan, Nebraska, Northwestern, Iowa, Michigan State and Minnesota.

It could take some time for fans to warm up to the name. A friend asked why not "Plains" and "Lakes." Heck, even the generic titles "X" and "O", given when the conference first announced the divisions in September, feel like a better fit.

What do you think?

Two Hoosiers were honored as part of the Big Ten trophy names. The Thompson-Randle El Freshman of the Year is named in honor of Minnesota's Darrell Thompson and Indiana's Antwaan Randle El.

The Dungy-Thompson Humanitarian Award is named in honor of Minnesota's Tony Dungy and Indiana's Anthony Thompson.

Here is the full list of trophies.

Championship Game trophies

Stagg-Paterno Championship Trophy

Joe Paterno, Penn State

Grange-Griffin Championship Game MVP

Harold Edward "Red" Grange, Illinois Archie Griffin, Ohio State

Postgraduate Awards

Ford-Kinnick Leadership Award

Gerald R. Ford, Michigan Nile Kinnick, Iowa

Dungy-Thompson Humanitarian Award

Tony Dungy, Minnesota Anthony Thompson, Indiana

Annual Awards/Trophies

Graham-George Offensive Player of the Year

Otto Graham, Northwestern Eddie George, Ohio State

Nagurski-Woodson Defensive Player of the Year

Bronislau "Bronko" Nagurski, Minnesota Charles Woodson, Michigan

Hayes-Schembechler Coach of the Year

Wayne Woodrow "Woody" Hayes, Ohio State Glenn Edward "Bo" Schembechler, Michigan

Thompson-Randle El Freshman of the Year

Darrell Thompson, Minnesota Antwaan Randle El, Indiana

Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year

Dave Rimington, Nebraska Orlando Pace, Ohio State

Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of the Year

Charles Aaron "Bubba" Smith, Michigan State Courtney Brown, Penn State

Griese-Brees Quarterback of the Year

Bob Griese, Purdue Drew Brees, Purdue

Ameche-Dayne Running Back of the Year

Alan Ameche, Wisconsin Ron Dayne, Wisconsin

Tatum-Woodson Defensive Back of the Year

Jack Tatum, Ohio State Rod Woodson, Purdue

Butkus-Fitzgerald Linebacker of the Year

Dick Butkus, Illinois Pat Fitzgerald, Northwestern

Richter-Howard Receiver of the Year

Pat Richter, Wisconsin Desmond Howard, Michigan

Kwalick-Clark Tight End of the Year

Ted Kwalick, Penn State Dallas Clark, Iowa

Bakken-Andersen Kicker of the Year

Jim Bakken, Wisconsin Morten Andersen, Michigan State

Eddleman-Fields Punter of the Year

Thomas Dwight Eddleman, IllinoisAmos Alonzo Stagg, Chicago

Brandon Fields, Michigan State