You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

The Scoop


Verbatim: Fremont awarded revitalization grant

Statement issued Thursday:

Lt. Governor Becky Skillman announced today that 26 rural communities will receive Community Focus Fund (CFF) grants totaling $13,895,255. The grants are funded by the federal Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) program, which is administered by the Indiana Office of Community and Rural Affairs. This is the 12th round of CFF grants the Lt. Governor has awarded since 2005.

"These grants fund projects which help rural areas of our state build stronger communities," said Lt. Governor Becky Skillman. "Adequate infrastructure and community facilities are essential to a community's economic success."

OCRA provides technical assistance to community leaders during the 18-month implementation of their CFF projects. Grantees include:

Community; Project Description; Grant Request

Adams County; Historic Preservation; $397,152

Bryant, Town of, Sewer Infrastructure; $600,000

Earl Park, Town of; Water Infrastructure $600,000

Fountain County; EMS Station; $500,000

Fremont, Town of; Downtown Revitalization; $500,000

Fulton County; Historic Preservation; $178,000

Haubstadt, Town of; Sewer Infrastructure; $600,000

Jay County; Special Needs Center; $440,000

Milan, Town of; Stormwater Infrastructure; $600,000

Millersburg, Town of; Water Infrastructure; $600,000

Montpelier, City of; Water Infrastructure; $600,000

New Harmony, Town of; Fire Station/EMS; $500,000

Oakland City, City of; Community Center; $500,000

Osgood, Town of; Sewer Infrastructure; $600,000

Otterbein, Town of; Stormwater Infrastructure; $600,000

Parke County; EMS Station; $485,103

Patriot, Town of; Sewer Infrastructure; $600,000

Pierceton, Town of; Water Infrastructure; $600,000

Pike County; Fire Station; $495,000

Rensselaer, City of; Stormwater Infrastructure; $600,000

Tennyson, Town of; Water Infrastructure; $600,000

Vigo County; Sewer Infrastructure; $600,000

Warrick County; Senior Center; $500,000

Washington County; Special Needs Center; $500,000

Waterloo, Town of; Sewer Infrastructure; $600,000

Winchester, City of; Downtown Revitalization; $500,000

Lt. Gov. Becky Skillman will host a ceremony to honor the awardees at the Statehouse on January 26 at 2 p.m.

Send items for The Scoop to