You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Full Count


TinCaps earn awards

TinCaps catcher Jason Hagerty was named the San Diego Padres minor-league Offensive Player of the Year, the organization announced at Wednesday's awards dinner.

Hagerty hit .302 with 14 homers for the TinCaps in 2010. The switch-hitting catcher was ranked the Padres' No. 10 prospect by Baseball America.

Fort Wayne infielder Jeudy Valdez won San Diego's minor-league Baserunner of the Year award. He stole 34 bases.

Closer Brad Brach, a member of the 2009 Midwest League championship Fort Wayne club, was named the Pitcher of the Year. He set a California League record with 41 saves in 2010 for Lake Elsinore.

San Antonio catcher Luis Martinez, who played in Fort Wayne in 2007 and 2008, was named the Defensive Player of the Year. Gary Jones, who managed in Fort Wayne in 2003, received the Jack Krol Minor League Coach of the Year award. He is a roving infield coordinator for the Padres.