You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

The Scoop


Verbatim: Homeland Security 12:45 a.m. update

The Indiana Department of Homeland Security issued this statement at 12:45 a.m. today:

INDIANAPOLIS — Public safety officials are urging individuals in areas severely impacted by the developing winter storm to stay off the roads. Significant amounts of falling snow and ice accompanied by strong winds are creating extremely hazardous road conditions across the state.

The following counties are under a travel “warning” and individuals in these areas are especially urged to stay off the roads: Allen, Boone, Brown, Carroll, Clay, Clinton, Decatur, DeKalb, Clinton, Fayette, Fountain, Franklin, Grant, Hamilton, Henry, Huntington, Jasper, LaGrange, Lake, Newton, Noble Marshall, Owen, Porter, Pulaski, Rush, Shelby, Steuben, Tipton, Union, Vigo, Wabash, Wayne, Wells, White and Whitley.

Travel in these areas may be restricted to emergency personnel only. Citizens are strongly advised to refrain from all travel, comply with necessary emergency measures, cooperate with public officials and disaster services forces in executing emergency operations plans, and comply with the directions of properly identified law enforcement officers and other public safety officials.

For additional information about county travel advisories, please consult the statewide travel advisory map.

The map is continually updated with travel advisory information as reported by each county. The map is available at

As the storm continues, road conditions in many areas are worsening. All individuals in areas impacted by the storm are advised to remain indoors and avoid traveling.

Send items for The Scoop to