You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

The Scoop


Harriet Miller receives Lifetime Achievement Award

Statement issued Monday:

INDIANAPOLIS - The Indiana Commission for Women (ICW) announced the recipients of the prestigious 2011 Torchbearer Awards on Wednesday, March 9, 2011. This award honors women from around the state who have been pioneers in their profession, overcome obstacles or removed barriers to equality or whose outstanding achievements have contributed to making Indiana a better place to live, work and raise a family.

“Indiana Torchbearers are those women who have stepped forward in all areas of society to carry the light for women and have led the way for others,” says Kristin Svyantek Garvey, ICW executive director. “These women have become true beacons of light and their stories of courage, perseverance and compassion create a lasting legacy of inspiration for us all.”

For this year’s Awards Ceremony, the Indiana Commission for Women received nominations for 48 amazing women. The 2011 Torchbearer Awards recipients are:

  • Ellen K. Annala, Indianapolis
  • Cynthia “Cindy” Hubert, Indianapolis
  • Elaine Bedel, Indianapolis
  • Maria Larrison, Avon
  • Tanya Bell, Brownsburg
  • Janice Montgomery, Columbus
  • Susan W. Brooks, Indianapolis
  • Dessie Partenheimer Koch, Indianapolis
  • Maria Del Rio Hoover, Evansville
  • Harriet Miller, Fort Wayne
  • Cheryl Joan Hillenburg, English
  • Katie Stam, Seymour/Carmel
Harriet Miller received the Lifetime Achievement Award for her continuous work to ensure that women have a voice when their rights and equality are jeopardized and for her lifetime commitment to women’s progress in society.

Miss America 2009, Katie Stam received the Heart of Indiana Award, which is given to a woman who has opened her heart and mind to the needs of humanity and has demonstrated her commitment to philanthropic service, social change and the spirit of hope.

Send items for The Scoop to