You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

The Scoop


IPFW project garners historic preservation award

Statement issued Tuesday:

Top historic preservationists to be honored, April 6

The state’s standouts in preserving cultural resources will be presented with 2011 Indiana Historic Preservation Awards at the statewide historic preservation conference in Indianapolis on April 6.

The DNR Division of Historic Preservation & Archaeology will present the awards during the conference banquet at the city’s Columbia Club. The conference, called Preserving Historic Places, runs April 6-8. For more information about the conference see

The highest honor given by the Indiana State Historic Preservation Office, the 2010 Hoosier Preservationist Award, goes to H. Roll McLaughlin. McLaughlin helped build the Indiana preservation movement during the past 50 years, both as a restoration architect and through service to the DNR as the first architect member of the Indiana Professional Review Committee for National Register Nominations.

The Award for Outstanding Grant-funded Restoration project goes to the American Military Heritage Foundation for its rehabilitation of the twin-engine Lockheed PV-2 Harpoon aircraft, nicknamed “Hot Stuff.”

The Award for Outstanding Commercial Rehabilitation project goes to Richard Ford for restoration of Wabash’s Charley Creek Inn. The annual award recognizes one of more than 30 Certified Historic Preservation Investment Tax Credit projects DHPA administers each year.

The Award for Outstanding Certified Historic Homeowner Rehabilitation recognizes Alonna and Elisha Beardsley for rehabilitation of the Michael C. Kerr House in New Albany.

The Award for Outstanding National Register nomination goes to Chris Baas for his efforts to recognize the Concrete Houses of Gary.

The Outstanding Community Preservation Award goes to Jeff Bennett, Warren Township Trustee, Marion County, for support of taking inventory of grave memorials in 12 township cemeteries, and engaging the public in inventory and cemetery restoration.

The Award for Outstanding Archaeology project goes to the Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne Archaeological Survey for its efforts concerning Late Prehistoric sites through Historic Preservation Fund grant-assisted projects in Allen, Clark, DeKalb and Hamilton counties.

Send items for The Scoop to