You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Full Count

  • TinCaps staffer honored
    TinCaps director of promotions and community relations Abby Naas was named the Midwest League's Female Executive of the Year.
  • Padres, TinCaps renew development contract
    The TinCaps said today they have renewed their player development contract with San Diego through the 2016 season.
  • TinCaps' 2009 title team makes Single-A history
    Seventeen members of the 2009 TinCaps have broken into the major leagues, a Class A record, according to information provided by the TinCaps from Sports Reference president Sean Forman.

For starters

Keyvius Sampson is the starter on opening day for the TinCaps.

The right-hander went 3-3 with a 3.56 ERA for San Diego's short-season team in Eugene, Ore. He went 3-0 with a 1.87 ERA in his first seven starts. His last three games, he went 0-3 with a 9.64 ERA.

Sampson was a fourth-round draft pick in 2009 out of high school. He committed to Florida State before signing with the San Diego.

The remainder of Fort Wayne's rotation sets up like this: right-handers Zach Cates, Matt Branham and Adys Portillo and then lefty Andrew Werner.