You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Full Count

  • TinCaps staffer honored
    TinCaps director of promotions and community relations Abby Naas was named the Midwest League's Female Executive of the Year.
  • Padres, TinCaps renew development contract
    The TinCaps said today they have renewed their player development contract with San Diego through the 2016 season.
  • TinCaps' 2009 title team makes Single-A history
    Seventeen members of the 2009 TinCaps have broken into the major leagues, a Class A record, according to information provided by the TinCaps from Sports Reference president Sean Forman.

Fort Wayne wins series

Rymer Liriano had three hits, including a two-run home run, as the TinCaps advanced to the Eastern Division championship series with a 5-1 victory against Bowling Green Friday at Bowling Green Ballpark.

Mark Hardy pitched eight shutout innings as Fort Wayne won the first round series, 2-0.

Hardy gave up four hits. He retired 16 consecutive batters during one stretch. Hardy finished with seven strikeouts and no walks.

The TinCaps will play either Dayton or Lansing in the next round. The Dragons lead that series, 1-0. Game 2 Friday at Lansing was in a rain delay.

Fort Wayne scored once in the first inning. Cory Spangenberg doubled, moved to third on a single by Liriano and scored on a wild pitch.

Liriano hit a two-run home run in the third inning.

Liriano doubled in the fifth inning. He later scored on a single by Luis Domoromo to extend the lead to 4-0.

Wes Cunningham led off the sixth inning with a double to left. Rocky Gale followed with a double to right field, plating Cunningham with Fort Wayne’s fifth run.