You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

The Scoop


Area student artists honored

Statement issued Wednesday:

Indianapolis, Ind. – The Indiana Governor’s Residence in Indianapolis was the setting to honor 22 student artists from around Indiana. The reception, held Sept. 29, was sponsored by Indiana’s electric cooperatives and by the Hoosier Salon.

The talented, young artists lauded at the event are winners of the annual Cooperative Calendar of Student Art Contest, sponsored by Electric Consumer – the statewide publication of Indiana’s electric cooperatives. The contest invites young artists from around the state to submit artwork reflective of the calendar month for which their grade level is assigned. For example, high school seniors would submit artwork for the month of December.

Submissions are then judged and winners from each grade selected. Those winners then represent the specific month in the “Cooperative Calendar of Student Art.” Nine honorable mention winners are also included in a special section of the calendar.

The young artists selected to represent their calendar month were:

• Bailey Ebbing, Greensburg – Kindergarten

• Kulsum Husain, West Lafayette – First Grade

• Alicia Wang, West Lafayette – Second Grade

• Meg Taggart, Westfield – Third Grade

• Olivia Kunkler, Portland – Fourth Grade

• Macy Broyles, New Castle – Fifth Grade

• Heidi Ziebarth, Warsaw – Sixth Grade

• MacKenzie Burgess, Owensville – Seventh Grade

• Mercedez Morgan, Pekin – Eighth Grade

• Brad Bever, Wabash – Ninth Grade

• Tyler Line, Paoli – 10th Grade

• Rebekah Sibert, Rochester – 11th Grade

• Stephanie Pitman, Frankfort – 12th Grade

Honorable mention winners were:

• Katherine Hippensteel, South Whitley

• Amanda Whaling, Greenwood

• Michelle Hendricks, Wabash

• Savannah Hoskinson, Cannelton

• Brooks Walker, Columbia City

• Zuha Ali, West Lafayette

• Isha Bhatnagar, Noblesville

• Andrew Zhao, West Lafayette

• Lilee Stetzel, Bourbon

To promote the talent of young Hoosier artists, the students’ artwork will travel to Hoosier Salon galleries around the state. The salon has galleries in Indianapolis, New Harmony, and Wabash. Following the gallery tour, the artwork will be displayed at the Indiana Statewide Association of Rural Electric Cooperatives’ Annual Meeting in Indianapolis Nov.14-15.

“We, representing the state’s electric cooperatives, are honored to once again partner with the Hoosier Salon to highlight these talented young artists. Their artwork will be seen by the many patrons of the Hoosier Salon galleries, as well as viewed by the electric cooperative members around the state,” said Emily Schilling, Electric Consumer editor.

The 2012 “Cooperative Calendar of Student Art” is now available at participating electric cooperatives and at Hoosier Salon galleries.

Indiana’s electric cooperatives, Electric Consumer, and the Indiana Statewide Association of Rural Electric Cooperatives are also a premier sponsor of the Hoosier Salon exhibition.

Electric Consumer, based in Indianapolis, is distributed to nearly 226,000 electric cooperative member-owners throughout the state of Indiana. For more information, go to

The Indiana Statewide Association of Rural Electric Cooperatives, publisher of the Electric Consumer, represents 39 electric cooperatives that serve 89 of the state’s 92 counties. For more information on Indiana Statewide and its members, visit

The Hoosier Salon, headquartered in Indianapolis, is a statewide nonprofit arts organization whose mission is to create an appreciation of visual art by promoting Hoosier artists and their art. For more information, go to

Send items for The Scoop to