You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Mad Antics

  • Delving into affiliations for this season
    You can check out today's coverage of the new affiliation alignments in the D-League -- the Mad Ants have 13 teams -- by
  • Explaining how Mad Ants have 13 NBA affiliations
    If you're wondering why the Mad Ants aren't a full-fledged affiliate of an NBA team, it's because they don't want to be. They don't want to sell their operations, opting to remain the lone independent in the D-League. “Our ownership doesn't
  • Mad Ants' affiliation in demand
    As the lone independent team in the D-League, not to mention the reigning champions, the Mad Ants were in demand this season by NBA franchises and potential place to put their prospects.

Ants pick 10th in draft

The Los Angeles D-Fenders won the 2011 NBA Development League’s Draft Lottery and will have the first overall selection in the 2011 NBA D-League Draft. The lottery took place in Denver at the League’s annual coaches meetings.

The Mad Ants will select 10th.

The NBA D-League Draft will be held Thursday, November 3.

The Austin Toros secured the second selection, while the Maine Red Claws, Sioux Falls Skyforce and Texas Legends round out the top five.

“The Draft Lottery tips off the NBA D-League’s 11th season in which our regular season begins as planned November 25,” said NBA D-League President Dan Reed.

The NBA D-League Draft utilizes a “serpentine” format, meaning the order will alternate in each of the eight rounds. For example, the team picking last in the first round will select first in the second round, giving them the 16th and 17th overall choices.

The order of the first round will be:

1. Los Angeles D-Fenders

2. Austin Toros

3. Maine Red Claws

4. Sioux Falls Skyforce

5. Texas Legends

6. Iowa Energy (to Bakersfield)

7. Erie BayHawks

8. Bakersfield Jam

9. Idaho Stampede (to Erie)

10. Mad Ants

11. Tulsa 66ers

12. Dakota Wizards

13. Reno Bighorns (to Bakersfield)

14. Rio Grande Valley Vipers

15. Canton

16. Springfield Armor (to Tulsa)