You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.
The Journal Gazette

Henry wins re-election as Fort Wayne mayor

Kennedy gets new term in clerk balloting

Fort Wayne Mayor Tom Henry and City Clerk Sandy Kennedy have won re-election to new four-year terms, the Allen County Election Board reported Tuesday.

With all precincts reporting in the mayor's race, Democrat Henry had 23,149 votes, or 50 percent, to 21,515, or 46 percent, for Republican Paula Hughes. Independent D. Haley Ahrendt had 1,781 votes, or 4 percent.

In the clerk's race, Democrat Kennedy had 24,103 votes, or 53 percent, to 21,722, or 47 percent, for Republican Zach Bonahoom.

In the at-large council race, where three people are elected, Republicans Marty Bender and John Crawford and Democrat John Shoaff defeated Republican Tom Freistroffer, Democrats George Guido and Gordon W. Anthony and Libertarian Alex Avery.

Incumbents won the other council seats, except in the 2nd District, where Republican Russ Jehl defeated Democrat Karen Goldner 52 percent to 48 percent.

In the 5th District, an open seat, Democrat Geoff Paddock defeated Republican Ben Hall 62 percent to 38 percent.

For more on this story, visit later tonight or see Wednesday's print edition of The Journal Gazette.