You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.


  • Komets sign big defenseman
  • Persistence puts offensive standout in Komets’ fold
    Komets coach Gary Graham and general manager David Franke had coveted forward Greg Wolfe for some time, because of his success at the collegiate level and his leadership abilities, and weeks of phone calls paid off Monday with the signing of the 24-
  • Komets return scoring leader of postseason
    Shawn Szydlowski was the Komets’ most productive player in the postseason – he led them in goals (six) and points (11) in 11 games – and Fort Wayne had longed to bring him back since that performance.
Weekend review

Komets split two games against Rush

The Komets overcame their scoring struggles in the second game this weekend to skate away with a split against Rapid City in South Dakota.

The Komets defeated the Rush 7-2 Saturday night after dropping the first game in the Rushmore Plaza Civic Center 5-2 on Friday night.

Jamie Lovell, Franke DeAngelis, Jamie Milam, Chris Auger, Jean-Michel Rizk, Artem Podshendyalov and Colin Chaulk scored for the Komets in Saturday’s win. Podshendyalov and Bobby Chaumont both had three-point nights.

The victory improved the Komets to 4-4-0, including a 2-1-0 mark against the Rush (6-3-1).

Rapid City starting goaltender Tim Boron was yanked after giving up four goals on 17 shots. Danny Battochio stopped 12 of 15 shots.

Fort Wayne’s Nick Boucher stopped 22 of 24 shots in the win.

The lopsided victory came a night after Fort Wayne outshot the Rush 39-19.

Chris Auger and Leo Thomas scored for the Komets in the loss.

Komets goalie Kevin Beech was beaten on four of the 16 shots Friday, and Boucher stopped two of three shots.

Prior to Saturday’s game, Fort Wayne’s Milam and Brett Smith received their championship rings, which were presented to a group of former Bossier-Shreveport Mudbugs.

That team folded just days after winning the championship last spring.