You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

The Scoop


Commissioners OK new Allen district boundaries

Statement issued Thursday:

At its final legislative session of 2011, the Allen County Commissioners unanimously approved new district boundaries for the Commissioners and County Council.

The redistricting process occurs every ten years following the U.S. Census and is done to adjust districts based on population changes so that all are proportionately equal.

The most notable change among the Commissioners districts was the shifting of 17 precincts from districts one and two into district three. Also, four precincts which had been in district three were moved to district two to help balance the population in those districts.

Maps of the new Commissioners and Council districts can be viewed online at The new boundaries go into effect January 1, 2012.

While they are required to reside within their specific geographic districts, the Commissioners are elected at-large by all Allen County voters. Four of the seven County Council members must live within the district from which they were elected.

Also at today’s meeting, the Board of Commissioners unanimously voted to support the Greater Fort Wayne Chamber of Commerce’s position advocating passage of Right-to-Work legislation during the 2012 session of the Indiana General Assembly. The Commissioners have already gone on record supporting Right-to-Work as part of their legislative platform.

Send items for The Scoop to