You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Business People

  • Business people
    Sweetwater recently hired three nationally known music professionals: producer and keyboard player Phil Naish; drummer and vocalist Nick D’Virgilio; and guitarist Don Carr. Ken W.
  • Business people
    Asher Agency hired Beth Chester as a staff accountant; Tina French and Mary Modezjewski, media processors; Laura Lichauer, account coordinator; and Jenny Murphy, account executive.
  • Business people
    Kimberly Waugh, a school counselor for Eagle Tech Academy at Columbia City High School, was named a director to the University of Saint Francis board of trustees.

Business people


Zach Bonahoom joined CB Richard Ellis/Sturges as a property management assistant in its property management division.

Jay Shipley, vice president of Bob Buescher Homes, was re-elected to serve on the board of directors for both the local and state Home Builders Associations. Shipley has been with Bob Buescher Homes for more than 20 years.

Kelly Updike, executive director of Embassy Theatre, was elected to the board of directors of the national League of Historic American Theatres. Updike will serve on the executive director search task force and membership recruitment and membership engagement committees.

Building Contractors Association of Northeast Indiana announced the results of its election of officers and directors to serve on its 2012 board of directors. The officers are: Tad Marsh, Zumbrun Construction, president; Devon Kirk, Robert E. Crosby Inc., 1st vice president; Jay Snyder, Moss Building Products, 2nd vice president; and Rick Dommer, Interior Products Supply, treasurer. Directors re-elected to serve consecutive terms were: Dommer, Interior Products Supply; Mark Hellinger, CME Corp.; Kirk, Robert E. Crosby Inc.; Phil Miller, C.M.S. Roofing; Holly Hunter, Hamilton Hunter Builders; and Mark Veerkamp, Shambaugh & Son. Other members on the board of directors are: John Brogan, BZW Master Painters; Mike Kinder, K&H Construction; Jim Lemberg, Tile Interiors; Greg Lynch, Almet; Bruce Molter, Hagerman Group; John Riley, MartinRiley Architects; Ron Roberts, Schmidt Electric; Mike Schenkel, Schenkel & Sons; and Steve Stewart, ISU Stewart, Brimner, Peters & Co.

Christine Hootman was selected as the managing director of Baden Gage & Schroeder LLC. Hootman will succeed Perry Schroeder, who will become an adviser to the executive committee and continue to serve clients. Hootman joined Baden Gage & Schroeder in 1987.

Toni Salek joined DWD Technology Group, a division of Dulin, Ward & DeWald Inc., as marketing assistant.

Sharona Walker was promoted to a shipping team leader position at 80/20 Inc. Walker has been with the company for less than a year.

The Apartment Association of Fort Wayne-Northeast Indiana announced the results of elections for its 2012 board of directors and executive officers. The officers are: Tracy Stolte, Black Bear Creek, president; Tammy Brandt, New Generation Management, vice president; Scott Taylor, In Good Company, secretary; Miriam Larmore, Teakwood Arms, treasurer; and Kelly Durkes, Windsor Oaks, past president. Other members of the board include: John Ehrhardt, Guardian Management; Fred Gould, PGPM Management; Lynn Thurber, Willow Creek Crossing; Jeff Vaughan, Vaughan Development; Tammy Brandt, New Generation Management; and Karen Potter, Pro Fed Credit Union.

Kevin White joined Qualitex Inc. as a CNC machinist/toolmaker.

McMillen Center for Health Education hired Sal Soto as senior director of development and Frances Brooks as director of marketing and communications.

Pamela Kerr joined DRG as the company’s catalog director. Kerr was most recently the senior merchandise manager for Orvis.

Park Center, a community mental health center, announced two promotions. Clyde Nix, formerly Park Center’s business manager, was named chief financial officer. Kathleen Halbach, formerly an addictions therapist, was named program manager of the Neighborhood Based Mental Health and Addictions Program.

Nominations are being accepted for the eighth annual Athena Awards at through 5 p.m. Jan. 20. The award program recognizes individuals for professional excellence, providing valuable service to their community and assisting women in their attainment of professional goals and leadership skills locally and internationally. The awards will be presented March 14 at The Diamond Room at Ceruti’s Summit Park, 6601 Innovation Blvd.