You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Mad Antics

  • Former IPFW standout earns D-League award
    Former IPFW standout Frank Gaines was named the D-League’s most improved player Tuesday after his first season in the league.
  • Mad Ants facing drought
    While fans of the Mad Ants have had to be patient for this success, the championship drought predates the team.
  • Ants to play Santa Cruz
    In the D-League Finals, the Mad Ants will play Santa Cruz. Tonight, the Warriors defeated Rio Grande Valley 147-128 in a decisive Game 3.

Two Ants named to NBA D-League All-Star team

The NBA Development League announced today that Mad Ants Darnell Lazare and Walker Russell Jr. have been selected to play in the sixth annual NBA D-League All-Star Game on Feb. 25. The game will air live on NBA TV at 2 p.m.

Lazare is averaging 18.5 points and 8 rebounds per game for the Mad Ants in 22 games. Russell, who earned a call-up to the Detroit Pistons on Jan. 20, is averaging 4 points and 2.8 assists in 19.2 minutes over 11 games for Detroit, including an NBA-career-high 12 points and six rebounds on Feb. 1 at New Jersey.

Lazare will play on the East team with Tyrell Biggs (Canton Charge); Edwin Ubiles (Dakota Wizards); Keith McLeod (Erie BayHawks); Marqus Blakely (Iowa Energy); Charles Garcia (Sioux Falls Skyforce); and JamesOn Curry, Jeff Foote, and Jerry Smith (Springfield Armor).