You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Boiling Point


Hummel, Byrd, Jackson honored by Big Ten

Purdue's Robbie Hummel, D.J. Byrd and Lewis Jackson were honored by the Big Ten Monday.

Hummel earned All-Big Ten first-team honors by the coaches and media. Byrd was named the Big Ten Sixth Man of the Year.

"This is a huge honor, and it feels great to be held in the same regard as some great players from around the league," Hummel said in a statement. "A lot of hard work has gone into not only getting back on the court this season, but putting myself in the best possible position to help the team. I'm feeling better every time out, and I think that's only going to continue. I want to thank everyone who has stuck with me and believed in me as I've worked to get back."

Jackson was named to the Big Ten honorable mention list by the media and coaches.

"This is a great honor, and it brings me the same sense of excitement and pride that it did last year," Jackson said in a statement. "Being able to overcome some injuries this year and still play well enough to earn this honor feels really good. This wouldn't be possible without a great group of teammates on the other end of those passes. We have a great group of guys who love getting out on the court with each other."

He was joined by Byrd on the media's list.

"I'm excited and humbled to receive these honors," Byrd said in a statement. "There really isn't a better feeling than having your hard work and hours in the gym pay off. I'm humbled that the great coaches in our league found me deserving of the Sixth Man of the Year award. Coach Painter talks about being ready when your number is called, and we have a group of guys on this team who really take that to heart."

Michigan State's Draymond Green earned Big Ten Player of the Year honors. His coach, Tom Izzo, was named the Coach of the Year. The coaches named Indiana's Cody Zeller the Freshman of the Year. The media selected Michigan's Trey Burke as the Freshman of the Year.