You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Full Count


TinCaps release opening day roster

Five of the top 30 prospects in San Diego’s organization will start the season in Fort Wayne.

The TinCaps released their opening day roster Saturday. The roster includes catcher Austin Hedges (ranked No. 5 in the organization according to Baseball America), pitcher Joe Ross (No. 9), infielder Jace Peterson (No. 17), outfielder Donavan Tate (No. 22) and pitcher Adys Portillo (No. 26).

The roster includes six players who spent time with the TinCaps in 2011. Those players are pitchers Robert Eisenbach, Portillo, infielder Jose Dore, and outfielders Corey Adamson, Alberth Martinez and Tate.

The complete roster is below:

2012 Roster

Pitchers (13): John Barbato, Luis De la Cruz, Robert Eisenbach, Frank Garces, Justin Hancock, Cody Hebner, Michael Kelly, Adys Portillo, Colin Rea, Joe Ross, Daniel Sarria, Matthew Stites, Matthew Wisler

Catchers (2): Matthew Colantonio, Austin Hedges

Infielders (6): Jose Dore, Zach Kometani, Casey McElroy, Justin Miller, Jace Peterson, Travis Whitmore

Outfielders (4): Corey Adamson, Kyle Gaedele, Alberth Martinez, Donavan Tate

Opening day is April 5 against Lake County. The contest begins at 7:05 p.m. at Parkview Field.