You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Mastodon tracks

  • IPFW men's tennis player wins invitational
    Karl Wangensten-Oye earned an individual title at the Northern Kentucky Invitational on Saturday in Highland Heights, Kentucky.
  • IPFW doubles team goes undefeated at tourney
    In East Lansing, Michigan, the IPFW women’s doubles team of Marcy Huck and Mayu Sato finished the season-opening tennis tournament at Michigan State undefeated Sunday.
  • Miami (Ohio) blanks IPFW women
    The IPFW women's soccer team (1-6) fell 3-0 at Oxford, Ohio to Miami. Kelsey Dinges scored for the RedHawks in the 25th minute from a free kick deflection to give the hosts a one-goal advantage at halftime.

IPFW tennis coach is Summit League men's coach of the year

IPFW’s Eric Burns was named the Summit League Men’s Tennis Coach of the Year at the conference’s annual awards banquet on Thursday, held prior to the league tournament, which will be played in Kansas City, Mo.

Burns led the Mastodons men’s and women’s teams to second-place finishes in the Summit League. It was the highest place for the IPFW men’s squad.

Senior Roberto Cabrini, at No. 1 singles, and freshmen Joao Freitas, No. 5 singles, and Martin Muadi, at No. 6 singles, were named to the All-Summit League team.

Junior Anita Henestrosa was named the Summit League Women’s Tennis Newcomer of the Year and joined senior teammate Alex Forsyth on the All-Summit League women’s team.

The Mastodons men (12-10, 4-1) will face No. 3 seed IUPUI (10-14, 4-1) at 3 p.m. today. Top-seed UMKC (8-14, 4-1) will face No. 4 South Dakota State (7-13, 2-3).

The winners will return to play in Saturday’s 3 p.m. championship match.

The IPFW women (17-10, 7-1) meet No. 3 seed UMKC (13-11, 6-2) at 11 a.m. today. No. 1 seed Oral Roberts (11-5, 8-0) will play No. 4 Southern Utah (13-11, 6-2).

The winners will play Saturday at 11 a.m.