You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Ice Chips

  • Komets down 1-0
    READING, Pa. -- It wasn't a bad first period for the Komets at Santander Arena. They skated hard. Hit more than usual.But it wasn't a great one either.
  • Whew, I'm here
    READING, Pa. -- Whew, it wasn't easy, but I'm at Santander Arena. Apparently, there are many buildings with the Santander name here and hotels, including mine, think that one is where the hockey team plays.
  • K's must defend well
    The Komets believe they have some reason for confidence today, as the best-of-seven Eastern Conference quarterfinals against the Reading Royals open tonight at Santander Arena in Reading, Pa.

A farewell raspberry from the CHL

The championship Komets came up with a big goose egg at the CHL Awards banquet.

The Central Hockey League's 17th annual Spring Conference concluded on Wednesday night in Las Vegas with the league's awards banquet honoring the top front office executives and team achievements from the 2011-12 season.

The Missouri Mavericks snagged eight of the 15 awards announced. The executive and broadcaster are of particular note.

The entire list of award winners is below:

  • Ralph Backstrom Soul of Service Award – Scott Plourde, Texas Brahmas
  • CHL Game Operations Franchise of the Year – Allen Americans
  • CHL Merchandising Franchise of the Year – Missouri Mavericks
  • CHL Community Relations Franchise of the Year – Quad City Mallards
  • CHL New Media Franchise of the Year – Wichita Thunder
  • CHL Broadcaster of the Year – Daniel Nieves, Rapid City Rush
  • CHL Communications Executive of the Year – Patrick Armstrong, Missouri Mavericks
  • CHL Corporate Partnership Team of the Year – Missouri Mavericks
  • CHL Group Sales Franchise of the Year – Missouri Mavericks
  • CHL Ticketing Executive of the Year – Ben Gaul, Missouri Mavericks
  • CHL Ticket Sales Franchise of the Year – Missouri Mavericks
  • CHL Most Improved Franchise – Allen Americans
  • CHL Leadership Award – Brad Fain, Arizona Sundogs
  • Brad Treliving CHL Executive of the Year – Brent Thiessen, Missouri Mavericks
  • CHL Franchise of the Year – Missouri Mavericks

Justin A. Cohn, pro sports coordinator for The Journal Gazette, has been covering the Fort Wayne Komets since 1997. His reporting includes game stories from home and away, features about the players and personalities associated with the Komets, plus coverage of issues affecting hockey at all levels. A native of Bloomfield Hills, Mich., Cohn graduated from Emory University in Atlanta. He can be reached at 260-461-8429 or by email at