You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Full Count

  • TinCaps staffer honored
    TinCaps director of promotions and community relations Abby Naas was named the Midwest League's Female Executive of the Year.
  • Padres, TinCaps renew development contract
    The TinCaps said today they have renewed their player development contract with San Diego through the 2016 season.
  • TinCaps' 2009 title team makes Single-A history
    Seventeen members of the 2009 TinCaps have broken into the major leagues, a Class A record, according to information provided by the TinCaps from Sports Reference president Sean Forman.

Fort Wayne leads after three innings

Fort Wayne leads Lansing 1-0 after three innings Tuesday at Parkview Field.

The TinCaps’ run came in the first inning. Jace Peterson scored on a sacrifice fly to center by Casey McElroy.

Fort Wayne starting pitcher Frank Garces gave up two hits in the first three innings. Center fielder Kyle Gaedele provided a lift defensively, throwing out Gustavo Pierre at the plate as he attempted to score on a single by Chris Hawkins in the third.