Political Notebook


State Democrats elect national delegates

The Democratic Party's state convention chose 10 residents of northeast Indiana as national convention delegates.

Elected Saturday as delegates for Indiana's 3rd Congressional District were Herb Anderson, John Court, Cindy Henry and Randy Schmidt, all of Allen County; Ali Penland of DeKalb County; and Judy Rowe of Steuben County.

Approved as at-large delegates were 3rd District Chairwoman Carmen Darland of Noble County; Mike Bynum, former Allen County Democratic chairman; and Ghada Srour of Huntington County.

Fort Wayne Mayor Tom Henry, the husband of Cindy Henry, was selected as a party leader/elected official delegate.

In all, the convention chose 106 delegates for the Democrats' national convention, scheduled for Sept 4-6 in Charlotte, N.C.

Schmidt, a former Allen County Democratic chairman, was selected as the presidential elector representing the 3rd District.