You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Full Count

  • TinCaps staffer honored
    TinCaps director of promotions and community relations Abby Naas was named the Midwest League's Female Executive of the Year.
  • Padres, TinCaps renew development contract
    The TinCaps said today they have renewed their player development contract with San Diego through the 2016 season.
  • TinCaps' 2009 title team makes Single-A history
    Seventeen members of the 2009 TinCaps have broken into the major leagues, a Class A record, according to information provided by the TinCaps from Sports Reference president Sean Forman.

For starters

Adys Portillo is the starting pitcher for the TinCaps today against Beloit.

Portillo is 6-5. His 1.65 ERA leads the Midwest League. It is the third-best in all of the minors.

The TinCaps also made a roster move. Infielder Lee Orr was reinstated from the disabled list. Orr is hitting .214 with eight home runs and 22 RBI. He was placed on the disabled list on July 2.

Infielder Zach Kometani was placed on the disabled list. He has a .227 average with one home run and 11 RBI.