You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Eyeing IU

  • Rahrig on Rimington watch list
    Hoosiers center Collin Rahrig was placed on the watch list for the Rimington Trophy, given annually to the nation's top player at that position.
  • Hoosiers add Illinois State transfer
    Illinois State team captain Nick Zeisloft will transfer to Indiana to complete his final two years of college eligibility, the Hoosiers announced Monday.
  • Wynn on Paul Hornung Award watch list
    Hoosiers wide receiver Shane Wynn was one of 47 players named Monday to the Paul Hornung Award watch list.

3 Hoosiers to serve 1-game suspension

Three Indiana football players, including cornerback Lawrence Barnett, will serve a one-game suspension for violation of team rules, the school announced in a news release Thursday.

Barnett, a Bishop Luers graduate, wide receiver Kofi Hughes and safety Forisse Hardin will each miss one game.

Wide receiver Jay McCants was dismissed from the team for a violation of team rules.

Safety Shaquille Jefferson and wide receiver Logan Young left the program.

"We thank Shaquille and Logan for their contributions to the program. Both have indicated they plan to transfer to another school to continue their careers. They leave IU in good standing and we wish them the best," IU coach Kevin Wilson said in a statement.

The Hoosiers opened camp on Thursday.

In other news, running back Matt Perez (back), tight end Paul Phillips (ankle), linebacker Ishmael Thomas (shoulder) and walk-on tight end Jordan Jackson (knee) will not attend camp because of injuries.

Defensive end Adam Kranda has not reported for the start of camp.

"Adam is dealing with a private matter. It is our intention to work with him to have him here in the near future. Adam has a bright future and will be a valuable piece on our defensive line," Wilson said.

IU added 18 walk-ons (listed below) to the program.

No. Name Pos. Ht. Wt. Hometown/Last School

2 Dareon Fuller DB 5-7 167 Indianapolis, Ind./Arlington

3 David Nelson QB 5-11181 Hudson, Ohio/Hudson

4 Corey Babb QB 6-5 221 Indianapolis, Ind./Cathedral

9 Nate Boudreau QB 6-3 209 Naperville, Ill./Neuqua Valley

19 Ryan Parker WR 6-3 183 Orland Park, Ill./Carl Sandburg

23 Blair Stellhorn WR 5-9 190 Russiaville, Ind./Western

33 Christian Englum TE 6-6 205 Indianapolis, Ind./Park Tudor

35 Quai Chandler DB 6-0 180 Lake Forest, Ill./Lake Forest Academy

38 Garrett Welch DB 6-1 192 Noblesville, Ind./Noblesville

43 Brandon Grubbe RB 5-11200 Lowell, Ind./Butler University

44 Andrew Wilson RB 5-11207 Columbus, Ind./Columbus East

52 Austin Schlosser LB 5-11201 Naperville, Ill./Neuqua Valley

54 Alex Ziedas OL 6-2 283 Detroit, Mich./University of Detroit Jesuit

72 Michael Mitsch DL 5-11264 Indianapolis, Ind./Cathedral

82 Sean Barrett LS 6-6 200 Carmel, Ind./Carmel

87 Mitchell Paige WR 5-7 166 Noblesville, Ind./Guerin Catholic

88 Anthony Corsaro TE 6-1 242 Indianapolis, Ind./Cathedral

93 Nick Campos K 6-0 182 Wheaton, Ill./Wheaton-Warrenville South