You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Full Count

  • Reyes homer lifts TinCaps
    Franmil Reyes’ home run in the top of the 12th – it was his 10th of the season – gave the TinCaps a 2-1 victory over the Great Lakes Loons at Dow Diamond on Tuesday night.
  • TinCaps rally to beat Wisconsin
    Jake Bauers' sacrifice fly to the wall in right scored Trea Turner with the go-ahead run in the bottom of the eighth, and the TinCaps made it stand up Monday night for a 6-4 come-from-behind victory over the Wisconsin Timber Rattlers in
  • For starters
    Pitching matchups, other stuff for TinCaps-Rattlers

TinCaps outlast Lugnuts, weather

The TinCaps picked up a rain-shortened 2-0 win over the Lansing Lugnuts at Cooley Law School Stadium in Lansing, Mich., on Thursday.

The game was halted in the top of the eighth after a delay of 44 minutes.

The TinCaps (31-21, 62-60 overall) scored two runs in the top of the fourth to beat the Lugnuts (27-23, 74-45). It was Fort Wayne’s third straight win.

Ruben Meija (2-6) pitched 5 2/3 innings and gave up three hits and no runs to pick up the win. It was Mejia’s longest outing since he pitched 5 2/3 innings Aug. 24, 2011, with the Arizona League Padres.

Johnny Barbato went 1 1/3 innings and teamed with Meijia to hold the Lugnuts to 0 for 7 with runners in scoring position. In the series, Lansing is just 1 for 23 with runners in scoring position.

The game’s only runs were scored in the fourth. Lansing’s Brandon Berl (3-6) walked Yeison Asencio to leadoff the inning, followed by a single by Connor Powers, playing his first game in a TinCaps uniform in 2012. After a sacrifice bunt by Travis Whitmore, Kyle Gaedele knocked in two runs with a single up the middle, putting Fort Wayne in front 2-0.

Each team had only four hits. The TinCaps’ hits came from Powers, Gaedele, Jace Peterson and Travis Whitmore.