You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Full Count

  • TinCaps staffer honored
    TinCaps director of promotions and community relations Abby Naas was named the Midwest League's Female Executive of the Year.
  • Padres, TinCaps renew development contract
    The TinCaps said today they have renewed their player development contract with San Diego through the 2016 season.
  • TinCaps' 2009 title team makes Single-A history
    Seventeen members of the 2009 TinCaps have broken into the major leagues, a Class A record, according to information provided by the TinCaps from Sports Reference president Sean Forman.

TinCaps outlast Lugnuts, weather

The TinCaps picked up a rain-shortened 2-0 win over the Lansing Lugnuts at Cooley Law School Stadium in Lansing, Mich., on Thursday.

The game was halted in the top of the eighth after a delay of 44 minutes.

The TinCaps (31-21, 62-60 overall) scored two runs in the top of the fourth to beat the Lugnuts (27-23, 74-45). It was Fort Wayne’s third straight win.

Ruben Meija (2-6) pitched 5 2/3 innings and gave up three hits and no runs to pick up the win. It was Mejia’s longest outing since he pitched 5 2/3 innings Aug. 24, 2011, with the Arizona League Padres.

Johnny Barbato went 1 1/3 innings and teamed with Meijia to hold the Lugnuts to 0 for 7 with runners in scoring position. In the series, Lansing is just 1 for 23 with runners in scoring position.

The game’s only runs were scored in the fourth. Lansing’s Brandon Berl (3-6) walked Yeison Asencio to leadoff the inning, followed by a single by Connor Powers, playing his first game in a TinCaps uniform in 2012. After a sacrifice bunt by Travis Whitmore, Kyle Gaedele knocked in two runs with a single up the middle, putting Fort Wayne in front 2-0.

Each team had only four hits. The TinCaps’ hits came from Powers, Gaedele, Jace Peterson and Travis Whitmore.