You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Full Count

  • TinCaps' groundskeeper honored
    TinCaps head groundskeeper Keith Winter was named the Single-A Sports Turf Manager of the Year, an honor he also landed in 2013.
  • TinCaps named Ballpark Digest's team of the year
    Citing sustained success and an "amazing" commitment to community service, the online trade magazine Ballpark Digest recognized the TinCaps as its 2014 team of the year.
  • Ex-TinCap Mallex Smith voted minors' top offensive player
    Mallex Smith, who was the TinCaps' center fielder for the 2013 season and the first half of 2014, was voted by fans as the top offensive player in the minor leagues during the past season.

Roster moves

Pitchers Joe Ross and Matt Wisler were added to Fort Wayne's roster for the Midwest League championship series against Wisconsin. Ross will be the starting pitcher for Fort Wayne in Game 1. Wisler is listed as the starter for Game 5, if necessary.

Both officially join the team from San Diego's Short-Season A team in Eugene, Ore. Wisler was transferred there for the Lake County series.

For the corresponding roster moves, pitchers Dennis O'Grady and Ruben Mejia were transferred to Eugene.