You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Full Count

  • TinCaps' groundskeeper honored
    TinCaps head groundskeeper Keith Winter was named the Single-A Sports Turf Manager of the Year, an honor he also landed in 2013.
  • TinCaps named Ballpark Digest's team of the year
    Citing sustained success and an "amazing" commitment to community service, the online trade magazine Ballpark Digest recognized the TinCaps as its 2014 team of the year.
  • Ex-TinCap Mallex Smith voted minors' top offensive player
    Mallex Smith, who was the TinCaps' center fielder for the 2013 season and the first half of 2014, was voted by fans as the top offensive player in the minor leagues during the past season.

For starters

Frank Garces is on the mound for Fort Wayne for Game 3 of the Midwest League championship series Saturday at Parkview Field.

Garces went 9-6 with a 2.81 ERA in the regular season. Garces has made one appearance in the postseason, going six innings and giving up two earned runs in a no decision against Lake County.

David Goforth is pitching for the Wisconsin. He went 10-8 with a 4.66 ERA.

Goforth threw a complete-game shutout in his first playoff appearance. He struck out nine and gave up four hits.

Fort Wayne officially placed Travis Jankowski on the disabled list. He suffered a rib injury after getting hit by a pitch in the first inning of Game 2.

Connor Powers was added from the disabled list.

Jace Peterson moves into the leadoff spot for Fort Wayne, with Tyler Stubblefield batting second. Kyle Gaedele moved from left field to center and Mike Gallic will play left field and bat seventh.