You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Motor Racing

Associated Press
Cars pit during a caution flag

Hunter-Reay wins IndyCar title after Power crash

FONTANA, Calif. — Ryan Hunter-Reay has become the first American to win the IndyCar championship since 2006 with a nerve-racking final drive Saturday night in the season finale.

Will Power crashed out of the race early, and had to watch on television in street clothes as Hunter-Reay snatched the title away at Auto Club Speedway.

Hunter-Reay went into the trailing Power by 17 points, but once Power was out of the race, he only needed to finish fifth or better. He worked his way through the field and into position to wrap it up, but had to hold on over some intense final restarts to pull it off.

He crossed the line in fourth to win the championship by three points.

Ed Carpenter won the race for his second career victory.