You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Eyeing IU


IU announces new class for hall of fame

Antwaan Randle El and Landon Turner are among the seven people named to Indiana's Athletic Hall of Fame on Monday.

Randle El played football for the Hoosiers from 1998-2001. Turner was a member of the Indiana men's basketball team from 1979-81.

They will be joined by Michelle Venturella (softball, 1991-95), Dave Martin (Varsity Club Director, football 1959-61), Leanne Grotke (Coordinator of Women's Athletics, 1972-79), Bobby Robertson (football, 1949-52, baseball, 1954) and Lary Schulhof (swimming, 1962-64).

The group will be officially be inducted at the annual Hall of Fame dinner on Nov. 2 and will be recognized at halftime of the football game against Iowa at Memorial Stadium, the following day.

Here are the bios of each as provided by the school in a news release.

ANTWAAN RANDLE EL (Football - 1998-2001)—

One of the most dynamic offensive performers in Big Ten history, Antwaan Randle El came to IU from Riverdale, Illinois and won football letters in 1998, 1999, 2000 and 2001. Randle El earned All-Big Ten distinction in 1999, 2000 and 2001, and Big Ten Freshman of the Year in 1998. Antwaan was named Big Ten Most Valuable Player in 2001 and 1st team All-American in 2001. He finished 6th in Heisman Trophy balloting in 2001, after finishing 13th in 2000. Antwaan was the first player in NCAA history to score 40 touchdowns (45) and throw for 40 touchdowns (42), first to record over 2,500 total yards in four seasons, first to pass for over 6,000 yards and first to rush for over 3,000 yards. The Thompson-Randle El Award, given to the Big Ten's best freshman football player is named in his honor. A tremendous all-around athlete, while at Indiana Randle El also played on the men's basketball and baseball teams. He played in the NFL for 10 years with Pittsburgh and Washington and was a member of the winning Super Bowl team in Pittsburgh in 2005.

LANDON TURNER (Basketball - 1979-1981)--A native of Indianapolis, Landon Turner won basketball letters in 1979, 1980 and 1981and was a starter on and key member of the 1981 NCAA National Championship team. He averaged 7.5 points and 3.8 rebounds and shot 53.3 % from the field during his career. Heading into a senior year filled with great promise, Turner was in a traffic accident that left him paralyzed. Turner eventually graduated from Indiana in 1984 and went on to play wheelchair basketball. In 1982, he was named an honorary All-American by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association and drafted by the Boston Celtics. One of the most beloved players in IU basketball history, Turner remains an inspiration to Hoosier fans the world over.

MICHELLE VENTURELLA (Softball - 1991-95)--One of the most accomplished team sport athletes in IU history, Michelle Venturella won softball letters in 1991, 1993, 1994, and 1995. The South Holland, Ill. native was named All-Big Ten in 1994 and 1995, Academic All-Big Ten in 1993, 1994, 1995, 2nd team All-America in 1994, 3rd team All-America in 1995 and IU Female Athlete of the Year in 1995. Michelle won IU's Big Ten Medal in 1995 and set conference records in batting average, total bases and runs batted-in in 1994. She holds IU season records for runs, doubles, home runs and runs batted in, while also owning the career record for runs batted in. She is 2nd on career lists for hits, 3rd in runs and home runs, and 4th in batting average. Michelle was a member of the USA softball team for six years, helping the United States to a gold medal in both1996 and 2000.. Michelle was also part of the 1998 World Championship gold medal team. Michelle is currently the head coach at University of Illinois-Chicago, position she has held since 2008. Prior to UIC, she was an assistant at Iowa for six years – including four as associate head coach, and an assistant coach at Northern Illinois for two years.

DAVE MARTIN (Varsity Club Director; Football - 1959-61)-- A Bloomington native, Dave Martin became the third director of the IU Varsity Club in 1971 and served for 35 years in athletic fund raising, with titles of Varsity Club Director, Associate Athletic Director, and Special Advisor to athletics. During his tenure as Varsity Club Director, Dave was instrumental in establishing the Athletic Endowment Fund, the University Ticket Priority System, the IU Athletics Hall of Fame, the Varsity Club National Board, and countless other key Varsity Club initiatives. Dave joined the IU Foundation in 1969 to work on the 150th birthday fund, and then served the IU Alumni Association as director of alumni clubs and continuing education. Dave won football letters from 1959-61 and was voted outstanding defensive lineman in 1961.

LEANNE GROTKE (Coordinator of IU Women's Athletics & Director of Women's Sports - 1972-79) -- Leanne Grotke ushered in the era of women's varsity sports at IU. A native of Destin, Fla., Grotke came to IU after graduating from Bowling Green State University and served as coordinator of IU women's athletics and Director of Women's Sports from 1972-79. Leanne oversaw the transition of women's athletics from school of HPER to athletic department. She earned a Master's Degree from IU in 1966. Leanne also served as AIAW Commissioner for National Championships in 1966. Grotke worked for 26 years in athletic administration at Cal State Fullerton. The Grotke Award is named in her honor and it recognizes living I Women who, as alumnae, have made exceptional contributions to the women's athletic program at IU Bloomington. It is the highest honor of its kind given by the university.

BOBBY ROBERTSON (Football - 1949-52; Baseball – 1954) –Another in the long line of great IU two sport athletes, Robertson won football letters in 1949, 1950, 1952 and baseball letter in 1954. He was IU most valuable player in football in 1950 as a halfback. Bobby led the Hoosiers in rushing, scoring and punting in both 1949 and 1950, and set an IU record with 185 rushing yards in a victory over Notre Dame in 1950. He led the Big Ten in punting in 1949 and 1951 and his career 38.0 average was an IU record for 16 seasons. In his only season of baseball, he was named All-Big Ten and led the league in hitting with a .438 average.

LARY SCHULHOF (Swimming – 1962-64) --A Muncie, Ind. native, Schulhof won swimming letters in 1962, 1963 and 1964 was captain in 1963 and 1964. He was the U.S. National Champion in the 100 and 200 butterfly in 1962, and was a member of the world record relay teams in 4x100 freestyle in 1964 and 4x100 medley in 1963. Schulhof was also a member of 1964 US Olympic team. He owned the American record in 200 butterfly. In his three-year career at Indiana, Schulhof posted six top-five finishes at the NCAA Championships, three each in the 100 butterfly and 200 butterfly. He was also a member of three 400 medley relay teams that finished third at the NCAA meet.