You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Full Count

  • Parkview Field rated top park in minors
    At least according to one publication, Parkview Field, the home of the TinCaps, is the best of 160 ballparks in the minor leagues.
  • South Bend changes name to Cubs
    The TinCaps' Midwest League rivals up the road in South Bend are no longer called the Silver Hawks.
  • TinCaps staffer honored
    TinCaps director of promotions and community relations Abby Naas was named the Midwest League's Female Executive of the Year.

TinCaps, Padres announce extension through 2014 season

The Fort Wayne TinCaps extended their player development contract with the San Diego Padres through the 2014 season. The agreement between the TinCaps and the Padres will extend the relationship between the two clubs for two more years, through the 2013 and 2014 seasons. It will mark the 15th and 16th consecutive years that the two franchises have been affiliated with one another.

"We are very happy to continue what has been a productive and mutually beneficial relationship with the San Diego Padres," Fort Wayne president Mike Nutter said. "Baseball fans in Fort Wayne have been treated to top-notch talent on the field and exemplary individuals in the community, too. We have enjoyed working with the Padres since 1999, and look forward to watching the future stars of the franchise continue to develop here at Parkview Field."

Fort Wayne has reached the playoffs every season since 2009, a streak of four consecutive seasons. It's the longest current streak in the Midwest League. The TinCaps have reached the Midwest League finals twice in the last four years, and won the league championship in 2009.

The Padres have sent 22 supplemental first-round or first-round picks to Fort Wayne. Recent notable first or supplemental first-round picks to play in Fort Wayne include Travis Jankowski (2012), Jace Peterson (2012), Donavan Tate (2011, 2012), Cory Spangenberg (2011), Jaff Decker (2009) and Cory Luebke (2007, 2008).