Political Notebook


YLNI candidate forum

YLNI the VOTE is combining with September's Hot Spot for a candidate meet & greet from 5:30 to 7:30 p.m. Thursday on the second floor of Andorfer Commons at Indiana Tech.

Young Leaders of Northeast Indiana created YNLI the VOTE in 2007 for non-partisan voter education. Hot Spot is YNLI’s monthly low-key gathering.

Candidates slated to appear include: Kevin Boyd (D), House of Representatives - 3rd; Tom Keen (D), State Senate – 16th; Ben Smaltz (R), State Representative – 52nd; Phil GiaQuinta (D), State Representative – 80th; Alex Avery (L), State Representative – 81st; Martin Carbaugh (R), State Representative – 81st; Win Moses (D), State Representative – 81st; David Ober (R), State Representative – 82nd; Kathy Heuer (R), State Representative – 83rd; Lee Jordan (D), State Representative – 84th; Norman Knuth (D), Coroner; Bill Brown (R), Allen County Council At-Large; Gina Burgess (D), Allen County Council At-Large; Roy Buskirk (R), Allen County Council At-Large; Dennis Sprunger (D), Allen County Council At-Large; and Sharon Tucker (D), Allen County Council At-Large.

The candidates’ brochure, which includes responses from candidates running for federal, state, and local races, will be available both at the event and as a PDF download at http://ylni.org/files/page/ylni_the_vote_brochure_2012_final.pdf

The event will allow YLNI members and the general public an opportunity to meet with the candidates one-on-one. Candidates will have an opportunity to briefly introduce themselves, and the remaining time is dedicated to personal conversations with the audience.

A cash bar and complimentary hors d’oeuvres from the Oyster Bar will be available. YLNI the VOTE does not endorse candidates. For more information, contact vote@ylni.org.