You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Mastodon tracks

  • Spencer stars but IPFW volleyball loses
    Emily Spencer moved into second place on the all-time IPFW women’s volleyball kill list as the Mastodons dropped a non-league match to Western Michigan, 3-1 (23-25, 25-23, 25-16, 25-9) on Tuesday.
  • IPFW women's golfers tie for 7th
    At its final event of the fall season, the IPFW women's golf team tied for seventh with a two-day score of 642 at the Dayton Fall Invitational in Kettering, Ohio. The Mastodons moved up one spot from day one to finish tied with SIUE.
  • IPFW men's golfers finish 15th
    The IPFW men’s golf team wrapped of its fall season with a 15th place finish at the Dayton Fall Invitational in Kettering, Ohio, with a two-day score of 628.

Men's basketball picked 6th

The IPFW men’s basketball team was picked to finish sixth in the Summit League Men’s Basketball Preseason poll.

The Mastodons had 191 points. South Dakota State finished first with 390 points. The Jackrabbits received 30 of the 31 first-place votes (coaches may not vote for their own team).

IPFW’s Frank Gaines was named to the Preseason All-League first team. He was joined by Travis Bader (Oakland), Taylor Braun (North Dakota State), Ceola Clark III (Western Illinois), Terell Parks (Western Illinois) and Nate Wolters (South Dakota State).

Wolters was named the Preseason Player of the Year.

South Dakota State returns four starters from last year’s team which went 27-8 overall and 15-3 in the Summit League. North Dakota State finished second in the poll. The team earned the remaining first-place vote.

Here’s the complete poll.

1. South Dakota State (30) 390

2. North Dakota State (1) 321

3. Oakland 310

4. Western Illinois 274

5. IUPUI 193

6. Fort Wayne 191

7. Kansas City 120

8. South Dakota 108

9. Omaha 64

(first-place votes)