You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Preps Plus

  • Indiana coaches name teams for Nancy Rehm/Border Wars
    North Side coach Shabaz Khaliq will get a chance to coach his 2013-14 Redskins team a little longer – well at least three of them.
  • Area signings
    High school student-athletes set to join college programs next year.
  • Bishop Dwenger signings
    Bishop Dwenger athletes Alexandra Dennis (softball, DePauw), Nathan Niese (football/track, DePauw) and Trey Casaburo (football, Wittenberg) will sign letters of intent.

Ritter's record-breaker

Ritter's Jake Hagen had four touchdowns in a 40-28 loss to Bishop Luers in the Class 2A state title game Friday at Lucas Oil Stadium. The four scores ties a 2A record, with Franklin Central's Burt Austin (1982), Jimtown's Brian Smith (1997) and Evansville Mater Dei's Nathan Wildeman (2000).

Wildeman's mark was set against Bishop Luers.

The overall record is five touchdowns, held by Tippecanoe Valley's Tim Alspaugh (1979), Brett Law (1988) and Bishop Chatard's Dray Mason (2003).

For the Knights, Jaylon Smith had three touchdowns and 150 yards rushing.

High School Sports Editor Greg Jones on prep sports.