You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

The Scoop


Diocese schools make AP honor roll

Statement as issued Tuesday by the Indiana Department of Education:

The Indiana Department of Education (IDOE) today announced that 21 Indiana school districts were named to the College Board’s Third Annual AP District Honor Roll for success in Advanced Placement (AP) testing. More than 530 districts across the United States and Canada were honored for their success.

“Indiana is committed to providing high school students opportunities to get them ready for and credit for college, and AP courses do both,” State Superintendent Dr. Tony Bennett said. “I commend these districts for their commitment to ensuring our students have the opportunities and resources necessary to be successful after high school graduation.”

The College Board examined three years of AP data to determine which districts exhibited sustained efforts in improving and expanding AP performance and college and career readiness among students. Honorees showed either significant annual growth in overall AP testing and scores or maintained a high percentage of students passing AP exams with a score of 3 or higher.

The following Indiana districts were honored for their efforts:

  • Alexandria Community School Corporation
  • Batesville Community School Corporation
  • Brown County Schools
  • Carmel Clay Schools
  • Diocese of Fort Wayne-South Bend
  • Frankton-Lapel Community schools
  • Hanover Community School Corporation
  • John Glenn School Corporation
  • MSD Perry Township
  • Monroe County Community School Corporation
  • New Prairie United School Corporation
  • North Lawrence Community Schools
  • North Newton School Corporation
  • Oak Kill United School Corporation
  • Peru Community Schools
  • Salem Community Schools
  • Southwest School Corporation
  • Wa-Nee Community Schools
  • West Lafayette Community School Corporation
  • Westfield Washington Schools
  • Zionsville Community Schools

Indiana has seen a steady increase in districts making the national honor roll list since 2010. Eight Indiana districts made the first AP District Honor Roll, and 13 Indiana districts were recognized in 2011.

Carmel Clay Schools has been recognized each year. Additionally, New Albany-Floyd Consolidated Schools, MSD Perry Township, Oak Hill United School Corporation and Zionsville Community Schools have each been named to the list twice.

Since 2009, Indiana has pushed for greater student access to AP courses and exams as part of Dr. Bennett’s 90-25-90 goals. In 2011, 13.4 percent of students taking AP courses passed exams with scores of 3 or higher, up from 10.3 percent in 2009.

For more information on the College Board’s Third Annual AP District Honor Roll, visit

Send items for The Scoop to