You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Red Carpet

  • 'Boyhood' tops nods for Gotham Awards
    NEW YORK – Richard Linklater’s 12-year-long family drama, “Boyhood,” leads the Gotham Independent Film Awards with four nominations, including best feature.
  • Doug E Fresh highlights BET Hip-Hop awards
    ATLANTA – With a picture of his mother on a large screen behind him, Doug E Fresh struggled to complete his sentence.
  • Miss New York chosen as Miss America 2015
    ATLANTIC CITY, N.J. – Miss New York Kira Kazantsev was named the new Miss America Sunday night, marking the third year in a row that a contestant from her state has walked away with the crown in the nationally televised pageant.
Best film: “Zero Dark Thirty”
Best director: Kathryn Bigelow, “Zero Dark Thirty”
Best actor: Bradley Cooper, “Silver Linings Playbook”
Best actress: Jessica Chastain, “Zero Dark Thirty”
Best supporting actor: Leonardo DiCaprio, “Django Unchained”
Best supporting actress: Ann Dowd, “Compliance”
Best original screenplay: Rian Johnson, “Looper”
Best adapted screenplay: David O. Russell, “Silver Linings Playbook”
Best animated feature: “Wreck-It Ralph”
Special achievement in filmmaking: Ben Affleck, “Argo”
Breakthrough actor: Tom Holland, “The Impossible”
Breakthrough actress: Quvenzhane Wallis, “Beasts Of The Southern Wild”
Best directorial debut: Benh Zeitlin, “Beasts Of The Southern Wild”
Best foreign language film: “Amour”
Best documentary: “Searching For Sugarman”
William K.Everson Film History Award: “50 Years of Bond Films”
Best ensemble: “Les Miserables”
Spotlight Award: John Goodman (“Argo,” “Flight,” “ParaNorman,” “Trouble With The Curve”)
NBR Freedom of Expression Award: “Central Park Five”
NBR Freedom of Expression Award: “Promised Land”

National Board of Review picks ‘Zero Dark Thirty’

– Kathryn Bigelow’s “Zero Dark Thirty” continued to gather awards momentum as the National Board of Review named the Osama bin Laden hunt docudrama the best film of the year.

The board is the second notable group to name “Zero Dark Thirty” best film, following the New York Film Critics Circle. The two early awards suggest the film may be the Academy Awards frontrunner, four years after Bigelow’s “The Hurt Locker” triumphed at the Oscars.

The film took three awards Wednesday from the National Board of Review, which also named Bigelow best director and Jessica Chastain, who stars as a CIA agent, best actress.

The group also gave a boost to the “Silver Linings Playbook,” David O. Russell’s comedic drama about a mentally unstable former teacher (Bradley Cooper) attempting to reorder his life. Cooper was named best actor and Russell was given best adapted screenplay. (Best original screenplay went to Rian Johnson for his script to the thriller “Looper.”)

Leonardo DiCaprio won best supporting actor for his performance as a wealthy slave owner in Quentin Tarantino’s “Django Unchained.” Best supporting actress went to Ann Dowd for her performance as a fast-food manager terrorized by a prank caller in “Compliance.”

The board also cited Ben Affleck, director and star of the Iran hostage crisis drama “Argo,” for special achievement in filmmaking. Best ensemble went to the cast of Tom Hooper’s musical adaptation of “Les Miserables.” The group is also highlighting John Goodman with its “spotlight award,” noting the actor’s work this year in “Argo,” “Flight,” “Paranorman” and “Trouble With the Curve.”

The National Board of Review, a group of film academics, students and professionals founded in 1909, is one of the first groups to announce its picks for the year’s best movies. The Los Angeles Film Critics announce their choices on Sunday. The Golden Globe nominations come Dec. 13.

The National Board of Review has some pedigree in picking films that have gone on to win best picture at the Oscars, though not in recent years. Last year, it selected “Hugo,” while the academy chose “The Artist.” In 2010, it selected “The Social Network” while the academy chose “The King’s Speech.”

In addition to individual awards, the board also lists its top 10 films, in no particular order: “Zero Dark Thirty,” “Argo,” “Lincoln,” “Beasts of the Southern Wild,” “Django Unchained,” “Looper,” “Les Miserables,” “The Perks of Being a Wallflower,” “Silver Linings Playbook” and “Promised Land.”

The awards will be handed out at a gala on Jan. 8 in New York at Cipriani’s, to be hosted by Meredith Vieira.