You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Preps Plus

Swikar Patel | The Journal Gazette
Jaylon Smith leaps over Cardinal Ritter's Jalen Chandler during the 40th annual IHSAA Football State Finals at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis.

Luers' Smith named Mr. Football

In the 20-year history of the Indiana Mr. Football award, there had never been a winner from northeast Indiana.

That all changed Thursday when the sponsoring Indianapolis Star announced Bishop Luers senior Jaylon Smith was the 2012 Mr. Football for the outstanding high school football senior player in the state, given out every year since 1992.

Smith received 23 votes, ahead of Warren Central's Tim Kimbrough (11), Sam Schrader of Mishawaka (5) and seven others with three votes or fewer.

"It means everything. I am glad to be the recipient this year," Smith said. "No one has ever won the award fromFort Wayne, so it is really an honor to start the trend."

The four-time Class 2A state champion did something even his older brother, Rod, didn't do in 2009 as a standout running back at Harding.

"With great guys like (ex-Bishop Dwenger standouts and current Notre Dame players) John Goodman (2007) and Tyler Eifert (2008) and my brother Rod Smith, no one had captured the award, so I am proud to bring it home."

Former Dwenger running back Remound Wright tied for third for the 2010 award that is voted on by the state's football coaches.

As a running back, the Notre Dame recruit ran for 1,265 yards and scored 20 touchdowns. From his outside linebacker position, he had 75 tackles, 20 tackles for loss and eight sacks. He had 150 yards rushing and three touchdowns in a 40-28 win over top-ranked Indianapolis Ritter in the 2A title game Nov. 23 in Lucas Oil Stadium.

On Monday, Smith collected two other honors with the Butkus Award as the nation's top prep linebacker and the Euell A. Wilson Award as the SAC's top senior player. He was previously named the U.S. Army All-American and Family Insurance All-USA teams.

"It is a blessing," Smith said of the individual accolades. "Hard work pays off. It is just the beginning. I am not stopping. All this success makes me work harder."

The 6-foot-3, 220-pound Smith said he is now setting his sights on employment and conditioning for the U.S. Army All-American game Jan. 5 in San Antonio, Texas. The future, though, won't include playing on the school's basketball team.

"It gives me some time to get some hours in at Burger King," Smith said. "From a responsibility standpoint, and since I can't work in college, I just want to try to get some money in my pocket. Other than that, it is working out at AWP and getting ready for Jan. 5 (U.S. Army All-American game).

"I have been playing (basketball) under Coach (James) Blackmon and playing with James Blackmon Jr. and the Scott brothers since the fourth grade in AAU, so we all grew up together. It is hard to walk away from it, but you have to do what you have to do."

Indiana Mr. Football winners

2011: Columbus East's Gunner Kiel

2010: Lawrence Central's Tre Roberson

2009: West Lafayette's Daniel Wodicka

2008: Carmel's Morgan Newton

2007: Evansville Reitz's Paul McIntosh

2006: Warren Central's Darren Evans

2005: Warren Central's Dexter Taylor

2004: Roncalli's Jason Werner

2003: Warren Central's Desmond Tardy

2002: McCutcheon's Clayton Richard

2001: Ben Davis' James Banks

2000: Cathedral's Otis Shannon

1999: Indianapolis Arlington's Derrick Ellis

1998: Bloomington South's Rex Grossman

1997: Bishop Chatard's DuJuan Daniels

1996: Martinsville's Israel Thompson

1995: Martinsville's Earl Haniford

1994: East Central's Josh Martini

1993: Bloomington South's Bo Barzilauskas

1992: Franklin Central's Alex Smith

High School Sports Editor Greg Jones on prep sports.