You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.



SAC soccer awards to South Side, Luers

South Side’s Kaitlyn Hayes and Bishop Luers’ Nick Strack were recently named the girls and boys soccer players of the year in the SAC.

Hayes, a senior who is headed to Murray State, had 23 goals and 11 assists, while earning honorable-mention all-state honors.

South Side fell in the Class 2A sectional finals 1-0 to Norwell.

A junior, Strack had 11 goals and 20 assists, getting first-team All-District and third-team all-state honors.

Strack helped the Knights to the SAC title and a No. 2 Class A ranking.

Luers lost 3-0 in the regional semifinals to eventual state champion Canterbury.


Around IndyCar

Tony Stewart passed up a chance to race for Roger Penske in the Indianapolis 500. The three-time NASCAR champion said he wouldn’t try to race in both the Indy 500 and NASCAR’s Coca-Cola 600 on the same day. …

Ryan Hunter-Reay will use No. 1 next season to recognize his reign as IndyCar champion. Hunter-Reay had been using No. 28 in honor of the 28 million people living with cancer worldwide. But switching to No. 1 is somewhat customary for the defending champion in open-wheel racing.


Homestead coach to be honored

Homestead coach Steve Sotir will be recognized for his 100th career win at the Indiana High School Baseball Coaches Association Hall of Fame Awards Banquet on Jan. 25 at the Sheraton at Keystone Crossing in Indianapolis.


Date switched for Snider girls game

The Elkhart Memorial-Snider girls game has been moved from Dec. 19 to Dec. 21. The junior varsity game will begin at 6 p.m. and the varsity at 7:30 p.m.

NBA flopper fined

Brooklyn forward Gerald Wallace was fined $5,000 by the NBA for flopping, joining teammate Reggie Evans as the only repeat offenders under the league’s new penalty system.


WAC saves itself with Chicago State

The ever-changing Western Athletic Conference is adding Chicago State University next July, meaning the league will keep its automatic qualifying berths for the NCAA men’s and women’s basketball tournaments for another year. Chicago State joins Cal State-Bakersfield, Grand Canyon, Idaho, New Mexico State, Seattle and Utah Valley in the WAC, which is losing Denver to the Summit League next year.


Arkansas giving Bielema 6-year deal

Bret Bielema will be paid $3.2 million annually for six years at Arkansas, the school said as it introduced its new football coach.

Sophomore named nation’s top DE

South Carolina’s Jadeveon Clowney won the 2012 Ted Hendricks Award, becoming the first sophomore chosen as the nation’s top defensive end.

Dungy honored by NCAA for career

Former NFL coach Tony Dungy was selected as this year’s NCAA Roosevelt Award winner. The award, named after President Theodore Roosevelt, is the NCAA’s highest honor and is presented each year to a person who used their college athletic experience to produce a distinguished career. Dungy will receive the award Jan. 18 in Texas.


US teen 3 behind leaders in Dubai

American defending champion Lexi Thompson opened with a 3-under 69 at the Dubai Ladies Masters in Dubai, United Arab Emirates, three shots off the leaders. Shanshan Feng and Florentyna Parker both shot 66s after the first round.


NHL talk go long

It isn’t known what progress – if any – has been made in the second day of marathon talks in the NHL labor dispute, but owners and players surely sense that time is working against them. Negotiations resumed and stretched deep into the night again, this time in fits and starts, as the league and the players’ association searched for a deal to save the hockey season. It is believed each side submitted proposals and time apart discussing what was offered.

High school action

Bishop Dwenger, Carroll and Homestead all posted victories. Spencer Gillig and Matt Kuyvenhoven each scored two goals as Dwenger routed Northrop 8-2. Drew Cybulski scored a pair of goals for Carroll, which beat Leo 6-5 in a shootout. Russell Smascz made 24 saves and Max Dvorak had a hat trick as Homestead shut out Snider 6-0.