You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Preps Plus


Snider football players supporting Erin's House

Members of the Snider football team will return tonight to support Erin's House for Grieving Children, by attending the organization's holiday party at 5:30 p.m. at Georgetown Shopping Center.

Here's part of the news release:

"Three years ago, Erin's House was blessed with a special group of volunteers; the Snider football team. Coach Kurt Tippmann wanted his team to give back to the community, that playing football wasn't the only thing he wanted his team to leave high school with, he wanted them to share the value of volunteering.

"Each year a class would help a nonprofit in the community and would move among four various nonprofits to volunteer --- but the sophomore class, at the time assigned to Erin's House, fell in love with the organization and chose to claim it as their own for the duration of their high school careers.

"Those team members, now seniors, have continued to be a dependable presence at Erin's House – serving pizza to our families on program nights, cleaning up the shards of phone books in our volcano room and most importantly, serving as good role models for all of the children and teens that walk through our doors.

"These guys are helping Erin's House year round, even during the football season and they haven't missed a night. They are true champions for the grieving children, teens and families in our regional community.

"Players expected include Brandon Bernhardt, Weston Painter, Alex Roberts, Adam Whisler, Kaymen White, Jerrod Winston, Dameon Smith, Ruben Holcolm, Tyler Freimuth, Travis Leonard, Andrew Meyers, Antonio Jefferies, Jeff Heaton, PJ Sylla, Davontay Reese, Nick Reese, James Sommers, Dominique Hogue, Stephen Haggerty, Jalen McIntosh, Deronta Smith, Mikel Robbins, Wayne Wells, Dumont Schmidt, Keanu Evans, Addison Dellinger, Josh Spitnale, Brandon Phelps, Jenorie Smith, Tyrell Swain, Quinton Daniels, Darryn Mosley and Shaquan Scott."

High School Sports Editor Greg Jones on prep sports.